Saturday 15 December 2018

2018 Chairman’s Awards nominations

2018 Chairman's Awards

The annual awards, which are held at Brldington Spa in May, are presented to individuals, businesses and projects that have helped improve the East Riding over the last year. The awards will be presented by Councillor Caroline Fox, in what will be her last engagement as chairman before she ends her year in office.

The awards are broken down into five categories:

  • Community – recognises groups and individuals for the contribution to improving lives of those living in the East Riding with a non-commercial project
  • Built heritage – celebrates private homes, new builds or business premises that have been sympathetically renovated and restored
  • Environment – recognises projects that have made an impact in the environment
  • Business – recognises businesses that have helped the economy flourish
  • Sport – celebrates local talent and commitment to sports clubs and activities.

There are some changes to the rules this year – nominees can only be entered in one category and an award winner cannot be nominated in the same category for a period of three years but can be entered for another.

Councillor Fox said: “I’d urge people to think about their communities and think if there are people they know of who deserve some recognition for the work they do to make the areas they live a better place.”

For more information or to submit a nomination go to 

or email or contact Sarah Asquith, civic officer at East Riding of Yorkshire Council on (01482) 393260.

Chairman's Awards logo
What do you think of the content and resources on this page?
Please enter your comments below